Skip to content

Julian Billiard Academy

January 11, 2012
by

EV Grieve posts this picture that Jim & Karla Murray took of a graffiti mural that was revealed after they (they being the motherfuckers at NYU) tore down the Palladium on 14th Street in 1999 or so (to make room for a dorm and now a fucking Trader Joe’s).  The Greek statuary in the mural are a pretty great reference, it being next to the Palladium and all.

The last time I remember being in the Palladium proper was years before when I went to see Grace Jones and Dee-Lite play there on New Year’s Eve 1991. As annoying as the Internet can be, remarkably, there is backstage footage from that night on Youtube, as well as some of the performance itself. Personally, I was pretty loaded by that point.

Anyway, the most endearing thing to me about the Palladium (I understand that the use of “the” before Palladium is probably incorrect, but it just sounds right to me) was the pool hall that had long resided (reportedly since 1933) upstairs, Julian’s. I spent many many hours in that place, shooting endless games of pool and regularly funneling two dollar bills into the “special” Coke machine that dispensed cans of Bud.

I miss Julian’s.

Courtesy The Devil Wears

5 Comments leave one →
  1. JCo permalink
    January 11, 2012 3:50 pm

    And they say you don’t have a degenerate past.

  2. katie permalink
    January 11, 2012 5:00 pm

    I forgot about Julian’s!! And I still keep my Palladium VIP pass on hand….just in case.

    • jco permalink
      January 12, 2012 10:49 am

      If you end up time-traveling back to Julian’s, please take me with you.

Leave a Reply

