Skip to content

For Fuck’s Sake

January 30, 2012

Sunday, I saw some morons playing Quidditch in Central Park. I know it’s a sucker’s game to even discuss this, but seriously?? Even if we let slide that the “game” is a made up absurdity, created for an imaginary world where magic exists and people can zip around on flying broomsticks it’s still depressingly idiotic. The most notable aspect of the “game” as played in our dull, un-magical world, yes, I stopped to watch for a few minutes, is that while the players are advancing up and down the Quidditch field(?), trying to put a ball into one of several large hoops they must run about holding a stick between their legs, wedged up into the nut sack, or quim, as the case may be. And the hoops are really big and about chest high. It’s a stupid game in any world you choose to live in. Sigh.

What the hell is wrong with stickball, off the wall, kick the can, or even, soccer?

I guess I should mention that Quidditch is sport from the Harry Potter books.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 30, 2012 2:39 pm

    No wonder I’ve never heard of this “sport.” I’ve never read a Harry Potter book or seen any of the movies. Harry Potter gives me the creeps and if he wasn’t a fictional character I would wish him a painful death.

Leave a Reply

