Skip to content

Everything Used To Be Better

January 31, 2012

I wrote this before my Quidditch post, so I’m sticking with my “It’s been a while”, because it had been.

It’s been a while, I wish I could say that I’ve written nothing because I’ve been busy: deeply engaged at work, negotiating debt deals in Europe, dating a Rockette, but, alas, only one of those is true, and now she’s left me. Really, I just lost my muse, and while those who know me personally might not believe it, I simply had nothing to say.

It wasn’t the original idea behind this blog, but I think Fatso Al will agree with me that one of our foundational beliefs is that everything used to be better. Now, I know that’s not really true, but, really, of course it is.

To prove the truth of both those beliefs I’m linking to the flickr photostream of Steven Siegel who has been taking pictures in and around New York City for thirty years. His set of photos from the 80s is pretty great.

In all honesty, I can not say that the New York depicted here is better, it was dirtier, shadier, crumblier, more dangerous, etc. But looking through them, aren’t they really what you think of when you think of NYC? So, very original thought here, while much of the change has been good, great even, something pretty essential has been lost. Here are a couple, hope you enjoy the pictures.

NY in the 80s 2

NY in the 80s 7

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fat Al permalink*
    January 31, 2012 11:51 am

    Ah, Leslie Bovee. She was no joke.

  2. February 1, 2012 9:48 am

    I love the fact they used two L’s in her name on the Marquee. Yes, I’m easily amused.

Leave a Reply

