Skip to content

Guest Post: Monkee

March 1, 2012
by

It is, apparently, a monke(y)-themed day here at THEG. In memory of the departed Davy Jones, a loyal reader and close (very close) friend of THEG has penned an obit. So, without further ado, here’s jco:

This isn’t about a simian, this is about what some say was one of the biggest teen idols of all time: Davy Jones.

Jones passed away yesterday at 66, having started his acting career as a child. He stepped onto the world stage in 1965 when he was 20 years old to join The Monkees. The group was sort of fake at first, having been formed so that NBC could put a show on the air about the wacky life of a foursome of musical Englishman who were instant pop stars.

Although they weren’t allowed to play instruments at first, the members of the band eventually made their own recordings with Davy Jones singing lead vocals on most of their top hits, including “Daydream Believer.” I still own the 45 of that song and other Monkees hits, and I’m pretty sure that I bought it at Grant’s Department Store when I was around five years old. I was a sucker for Jones’ dreamy good looks and sophisticated British accent, and from age 3 to 9 I joined the millions of girls who swooned. I’m pretty sure that the rest of the family barely tolerated my insistence that we watch every episode of The Monkees in those pre-TIVO days.

I couldn’t have cared less that they were a network-manufactured inauthentic excuse for a pop group, I just wanted to sing and dance along with Davy. I even had a poster. RIP, Davy Jones.

Thanks jco. Awesome obit (and you know how I like a good obit). And I won’t reveal whether or not she still has that Davy Jones poster up on the wall…

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 1, 2012 11:34 am

    Great obituary jco! I was a card-carrying Monkees fan club member as a kid and their show and music is great! If you want to hear them as a true band, check out the album, “Headquarters.” In response to the criticism that they didn’t play their own instruments on the recordings, they made an album where they play almost all the music themselves and wrote a good portion of the tunes on the album. R.I.P. Davy Jones.

Leave a Reply

