Skip to content

Overrated

March 20, 2012

With due respect to Woody Allen (man, I loved Mariel Hemingway), I think I’m going to start a little irregular series here, which is that I’m going to periodically post about people and things that I think are overrated.

Now don’t get me wrong, this is not a series about things that are crap (though some will be). Indeed, some of the overrated people or things will be fantastic — just not quite as fantastic as everyone thinks they are.

Just so we’re all on the same page, here’s the dictionary definition:

to rate, value, or estimate too highly

Got it? Not rated highly, rated TOO highly.

Now that we have that out of the way, here’s my inaugural overrated dude: William Shakespeare. Yeah, that’s right, I said it, Shakespeare is overrated. It’s not his own fault. He was a perfectly good playwright. Even a great playwright. Maybe. But he’s a fucking playwright. He didn’t write books, he didn’t write novels or history, he wrote plays.

So why does everyone insist that we have to read that shit? I don’t go around reading other plays (anonymous guy, you know where you can stick those Thebans), and I don’t see why people have forever been trying to force me to read Billy’s plays. Hell, I’d go see them performed if they weren’t so damn long, but I sure as hell ain’t reading them.

So I think you get the picture. Shakespeare is totally decent, but enormously overrated. Just speak your mind people. Don’t let everyone force this shit down your throat. The Bard, my ass.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2012 11:53 pm

    You know, I never enjoyed reading much poetry when I was younger, but now that I am free to read what I want, I found Shakespeare to be one of my favorite poets. I am just saying, but the rawness of his language brings a colorful picture to my mind – and it is easy to visualize. However, I tip my hat towards your independent stance.

    • March 21, 2012 5:26 pm

      “Independent stance.” I like that. Far more respectful than, say, “the blatherings of a raving idiot.”

      Thanks for stopping by. We’re here all week.

  2. March 22, 2012 11:07 am

    Speak truth to power, Al!

    I’m with you on this one, and in fact, I’m not even really such a fan of seeing the plays. One thing to note about P. Roomey’s comment, it’s not the plays which you now enjoy, it’s the poetry, which is another thing altogether.

    Al, how do you feel about poetry?

    Finally, “independent stance”? Is that anything like the now infamous Senatorial “wide stance”?

Leave a Reply

