Skip to content

I believe that children are our future

April 28, 2012

No I don’t. I believe that we as a society are raising generations of whiny, entitled, coddled, self-involved assholes. So maybe I do believe they are our future, I just believe that that future is going to suck.

What am I prattling on about? Well, apparently there was an incident during a Yankees-Rangers game in Arlington last week that escaped my notice. Thanks to Mac, who accurately foresaw my reaction, I now have been informed.

Here’s how it went: One of the Texas fielders gets a ball that’s out-of-play, and flips it into the stand (as fielders do). A bunch of people jump up and grab for the ball and some guy grabs the ball, gets excited, shares it with his wife (or whatever) and they are duly thrilled. Meanwhile, sitting next to them is a young couple with a little kid on their lap who wanted the ball, but didn’t get the ball. What does the kid do? He cries. And cries. And cries. Here, see for yourself:

The couple who got the ball fair and square are then vilified by the ever-pompous, insufferable and increasingly unlistenable Michael Kay, as well as Deadspin, which had the inestimable headline:

Worst People Ever Catch Foul Ball, Refuse To Give It To A Crying Child, Are Vilified By Michael Kay

Here’s what I wrote back to Mac, who suggested that I just cut and paste it into a post, so here you go, cut and duly pasted:

But my take would be fuck the kid. Life’s tough. You want that ball, fight for it. You don’t get it, man up and move on. Total crybaby. And from the video it looks like the kid didn’t even have his own seat. So they don’t even buy him a ticket and they think they can Bogart someone’s ball because the kid tears up.

This is what’s wrong with America.

I couldn’t have said it better myself.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2012 1:36 pm

    I completely agree! These are the kids that are supposed to take care of us when we get old! What the hell are we going to do?? Maybe we can train our dogs to wipe our asses and feed us our mush.

  2. JCo permalink
    April 28, 2012 10:44 pm

    Survival of the fittest. I’m going to go to Chicago and eat that child.

    • April 28, 2012 10:45 pm

      Did the parents flee to Chicago after the traumatic event in Texas?

      • JCo permalink
        April 28, 2012 10:46 pm

        No. Grant Achatz makes the best braised baby.

  3. April 30, 2012 5:02 pm

    “This is what’s wrong with America.” I’m in total agreement! What lesson did this little monster learn? Cry and you get whatever you want, because you deserve everything you want and can get it by not having to work for it. Someone should feed that little fucker to a dingo!

  4. jco permalink
    May 2, 2012 9:24 am

    I think everyone has missed the point here, which is that I have never gotten a baseball. WHERE IS MY BASEBALL?

Leave a Reply

