Skip to content

Huh?

May 10, 2013

So I was pub-crawling my way up 9th Avenue and I stopped into Billymark’s West. Now I love Billymark’s West. Fantastic bar. Perfect stop on one’s way up 9th Ave., even though I was wearing a suit, but fuck it, if I’m in a suit, I still might want to have a drink, mightn’t I?

So I have myself a Bud bottle and Billy serves it to me perfectly well, and the dude who’s sort of bar-backing comes over and notices that my cash change has ended up in a puddle and suggests that maybe I should take it out of the puddle, but I’m fairly unconcerned. But he’s pretty concerned, so I leave the tip in the puddle and take the rest of the change, which is fairly dry, and pocket it. But I digress.

Anyhow, on my way out, since I still have some hoofing to do, I stop to use the facilities. Now they are basic facilities, but perfectly fine, and as I’m scanning the walls, I notice this:

Billymark's West Graffiti

Now I can’t exactly make out what’s on the righthand side, but I’ve decided it says “Forever Louima,” referring to the brutalizing of Abner Louima. Right on. That was some fucked up shit.

But on the lefthand side, it definitely says “Martin Amis Uber Alles.” Now what the fuck is that about? I’m a big fan of Martin Amis’s books. Decades ago a friend gave me a copy of Money, and I thought it was fantastic. If you don’t know him, he’s a Brit novelist, son of Kingsley Amis (Lucky Jim and such) and buddy of Christopher Hitchens. But whatever. Why is some asshole using some Nazi-ass shit to praise Martin Amis on the bathroom wall at Billymark’s West?

No, seriously, why?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. martywombacher permalink
    May 10, 2013 11:38 pm

    I blame the Ace of Base.

Leave a Reply

