Skip to content

Another One’s Gone

September 27, 2010
by

Perhaps appropriately for a dank, rainy, melancholy day here in NYC, Jeremiah reports that another classic Midtown bar has bitten the dust.

The Rum House in the Edison Hotel closed last night–not on September 30, as previously believed–after losing their lease earlier this summer. The place had been on 47th Street off Times Square for 37 years and the original owner’s grandson was still working the bar.

Luckily Marty got there before the doors closed.

And in other Times Square news, apparently they are putting in a huge branch of Union Square’s Bowlmor Lanes in the old Times Building. I guess it’s sort of a cool idea, and it’s nice that the building isn’t being leveled, but I can’t help but think the cheez factor will be a bit overwhelming. I think I’ll stick to Leisure Time in the Port Authority. But please note that “No Visible Chains, Headgear, Construction Boots, Outside Food Or Drink, Or Excessively Bagged Clothes” are permitted in that fine facility.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 11:42 am

    Thanks for the shoutout, Fat Al. I was there last night and you never would’ve known it was the last night of operation. A big crowd most of whom had no idea it was the end of an era for this place. If they put a fucking T.G.I. Fridays in there I swear I’ll firebomb the joint! The Edison Hotel sucks for not renewing the lease.

  2. jco permalink
    September 27, 2010 11:50 am

    Marty: you might want to visit the Nancy Whiskey Pub in Tribeca one night on your journey.

  3. September 27, 2010 12:34 pm

    Thanks for the tip, JCO, I’ll check it out soon.

Leave a comment