Skip to content

We Cut Heads

April 9, 2012

I’m not feeling much like posting today, but I came across news of a Kickstarter film project that I wanted to share.

A filmmaker named Karen Gehres is working on a documentary about Astor Place Haircutters. Now I used to get my hair cut at Astor all the time. It was an intimidating place for a kid to show up, but it was the cool place to get your hair cut, so I braved it and headed there. I eventually had my regular guy (whose name I no longer recall) and the place was like a second home. Anyway, over time it became less convenient for me and I stopped going. But I’m really glad it’s still there, and I hope this movie gets made.

With so many NYC Institutions dropping like flies,due to skyrocketing rent ,one barber shop remains. Since 1939, Astor Barber has been cutting hair with pizzaz and is still one of NYC’s most loved institutions. Get your hair cut from cradle to grave…literally! The Vezza family, their loyal customers and over 50 stylists working at Astor will show why this 3 generation family owned business attracts ’em all. It’s a story of endurance and a family ,it’s employees and customers that stuck together against the odds in NYC.

As a family run business since 1947,the owners have many stories to tell. A success story in itself, I want to explore their perspective on the daily workings of the place and the people that have walked through their doors. From the countless celebrity customers to the karaoke in the back with other 50 barbers,this barber shop is never dull.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2012 9:12 pm

    Thanks so much for posting about my doc. I can’t wait to finish it and share it with everyone.
    All my best,
    Karen

    • April 10, 2012 12:47 am

      Karen, thanks for stopping by. This should be a great project. Best of luck!

      Cheers,

      Al

  2. April 10, 2012 9:44 pm

    I’m looking forward to this documentary and I think I’ll get my next haircut there!

    • April 16, 2012 9:22 pm

      Hey Marty,
      If you want to be in the doc,I’ll meet ya’ there and shoot you in the chair. Just lemmie’ know 🙂

  3. April 17, 2012 11:05 am

    @Karen, that would be too cool, I’m actually doing a haircut post today, but maybe in two weeks? I’ll contact you via Kickstarter, thanks!

Leave a comment